BOARD OFFICERS:

Damien Burke, secretary Anthony Conley, treasurer vacant, chairperson Laura Graves, vicechairperson

City of Los Angeles



BOARD MEMBERS: vacant, Property Owner vacant, Property Owner Alison Brotherton, Property Owner Nitzan Levinson, Business wacant, Business Michael Tessler, Business Damien Burke, Business Mai Mutty, Business Doug Haines, At-Large Cathy Hood, At-Large Vacant, At-Large vacant, At-Large vacant, At-Large Hayden Bernard, Resident vacant, Resident vacant, Resident vacant, Resident Laura Graves, Resident Anthony Conley, Resident Frankie Holt, Property Owner

Hollywood Studio District Neighborhood Council Board regular meeting minutes October 12, 2020 Virtual Meeting

Approved on November 9, 2020

[6:34 pm] Meeting called to order. John Franklin Sierra presiding.

[6:34 pm] The roll was called.

Present (14): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Grace Contangco, Milton Cruz, Doug Haines, Frankie Holt, Guy Langman, Bill Murphy, Kate Pynoos, Benjamin Rosen, John Franklin Sierra, Rosalinda Sierra, Michael Tessler, and Theodore Wachtel Absent (1): Dasler Jimenez

[6:39 pm] John Sierra gave a report from the chair including announcement of the resignation of Jonathan Bailey.

[6:40 pm] Sean Starkey gave a report from the office of Councilmember O'Farrell.

[6:50 pm] Dan Halden presented a status update on the Hollywood Walk of Fame Master Plan.

[7:08 pm] John Sierra gave a report from the Executive committee.

[7:11 pm] Michael Tessler gave a report from the Outreach committee.

[7:15 pm] Damien Burke gave a report from the Bylaws, Selection, and Election Committee, including a presentation on Robert's Rules of Order.

[7:22 pm] Anthony Conley gave a report from the Budget and Finance Committee.

[7:23 pm] Doug Haines gave a report from the PLUM committee.

[7:30 pm] Michael Tessler gave a report from the Public Safety committee.

[7:33 pm] Milton Cruz gave a report from the Youth committee.

[7:39 pm] Damien Burke reported on BSS action in the NC.

[7:39 pm] Bill Murphy gave a report on masks as the Resilience Liaison.

[7:40 pm] On agenda item VII A, a motion was made to "Approve the September 14, 2020 meeting minutes"

[7:40 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Approve the September 14, 2020 meeting minutes" Ayes (13): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Milton Cruz, Doug Haines, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Bill Murphy, Kate Pynoos, Benjamin Rosen, John Franklin Sierra, Michael Tessler, and Theodore Wachtel Noes (0): none Abstentions (2): Grace Contangco and Rosalinda Sierra

The motion passed.

[7:42 pm] On agenda item VII B, a motion was made to "Approve the Monthly Expenditure Report for September 2020."

[7:42 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Approve the Monthly Expenditure Report for September 2020." Ayes (15): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Grace Contangco, Milton Cruz, Doug Haines, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Bill Murphy, Kate Pynoos, Benjamin Rosen, John Franklin Sierra, Rosalinda Sierra, Michael Tessler, and Theodore Wachtel Noes (0): none The motion passed. [7:48 pm] On agenda item VIII, Damien Burke made a motion to "Create an ad hoc committee for the Holiday Party and appoint Grace Contangco as the chair."

[7:48 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Create an ad hoc committee for the Holiday Party and appoint Grace Contangco as the chair."

Ayes (15): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Grace Contangco, Milton Cruz, Doug Haines, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Bill Murphy, Kate Pynoos, Benjamin Rosen, John Franklin Sierra, Rosalinda Sierra, Michael Tessler, and Theodore Wachtel Noes (0): none

The motion passed.

[8:10 pm] On agenda item XI, Damien Burke made a motion to "The HSDNC supports a feasibility study on converting the Hollywood Recreation Center to interim homeless housing."

[8:10 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "The HSDNC supports a feasibility study on converting the Hollywood Recreation Center to interim homeless housing."

Ayes (8): Damien Burke, Milton Cruz, Frankie Holt, Kate Pynoos, John Franklin Sierra, Rosalinda Sierra, Michael Tessler, and Theodore Wachtel

Noes (2): Doug Haines and Bill Murphy

Abstentions (5): Anthony Conley, Grace Contangco, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, and Benjamin Rosen The motion passed.

[8:25 pm] Benjamin Rosen left the meeting

[8:28 pm] On agenda item XII, John Franklin Sierra made a motion to "Re-affirm Doug Haines as the chair of the HSDNC PLUM committee."

[8:28 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Re-affirm Doug Haines as the chair of the HSDNC PLUM committee." Ayes (12): Anthony Conley, Grace Contangco, Milton Cruz, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Bill Murphy, Kate Pynoos, John Franklin Sierra, Rosalinda Sierra, Michael Tessler, and Theodore Wachtel Noes (0): none

Abstentions (2): Damien Burke and Doug Haines The motion passed.

[8:42 pm] On agenda item XII, John Franklin Sierra made a motion to "Affirm Rosalinda Sierra, Brian Curran, Samir Srivastava, and Charlie Fisher as members of the HSDNC PLUM committee for a one-year term"

[8:42 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Affirm Rosalinda Sierra, Brian Curran, Samir Srivastava, and Charlie Fisher as members of the HSDNC PLUM committee for a one-year term"
Ayes (13): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Grace Contangco, Milton Cruz, Doug Haines, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Bill Murphy, Kate Pynoos, John Franklin Sierra, Michael Tessler, and Theodore Wachtel
Noes (0): none
Abstentions (1): Rosalinda Sierra
The motion passed.

[8:47 pm] On agenda item XIII, Damien Burke made a motion to "Approve Election Information Worksheet, as modified."

[8:47 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Approve Election Information Worksheet, as modified." Ayes (12): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Grace Contangco, Milton Cruz, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Kate Pynoos, John Franklin Sierra, Rosalinda Sierra, Michael Tessler, and Theodore Wachtel Noes (0): none Abstentions (2): Doug Haines and Bill Murphy The motion passed.

[8:55 pm] On agenda item XV, Michael Tessler made a motion to "Ratify Guy Langman as member of the Public Safety Committee."

[8:55 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Ratify Guy Langman as member of the Public Safety Committee." Ayes (13): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Grace Contangco, Milton Cruz, Doug Haines, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Bill Murphy, Kate Pynoos, John Franklin Sierra, Rosalinda Sierra, Michael Tessler, and Theodore Wachtel Noes (0): none Abstentions (1): Guy Langman The motion passed.

[8:58 pm] On agenda item XIV, Damien Burke made a motion to "Submit CIS in SUPPORT of Council File 20-0990 Training; Los Angeles Neighborhood Council Members."

[8:58 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Submit CIS in SUPPORT of Council File 20-0990 Training; Los Angeles Neighborhood Council Members."

Ayes (11): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Grace Contangco, Milton Cruz, Frankie Holt, Guy Langman, Bill Murphy, John Franklin Sierra, Rosalinda Sierra, Michael Tessler, and Theodore Wachtel Noes (0): none

Abstentions (3): Doug Haines, Dasler Jimenez, and Kate Pynoos

The motion passed.

[9:01 pm] Bill Murphy announced that former board member Anita McMillan is home and well.

[9:02 pm] Meeting adjourned.

The neighborhood council does not count abstentions as votes.