## **BOARD OFFICERS:**

Damien Burke, secretary vacant, chairperson
Laura Graves, vicechairperson
Anthony Conley, treasurer

## City of Los Angeles



BOARD MEMBERS: vacant, Property Owner

vacant, Property Owner
Alison Brotherton, Property Owner
Nitzan Levinson, Business
vacant, Business
Michael Tessler, Business

Michael Tessler, Business Damien Burke, Business Kali Mutty, Business Doug Haines, At-Large Cathy Hood, At-Large vacant, At-Large vacant, At-Large Hayden Bernard, Resident vacant, Resident

vacant, Resident vacant, Resident Laura Graves, Resident Anthony Conley, Resident Frankie Holt, Property Owner

vacant, Resident

## Hollywood Studio District Neighborhood Council Board regular meeting minutes July 12, 2021 Virtual Meeting

Approved on September 13, 2021

[6:50 pm] Meeting called to order. Anthony Conley presiding.

[6:50 pm] The roll was called.

Present (10): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Laura Graves, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Ian Phillips, Quenton Richards, Ted Wachtel, and Senator Zavala

Absent (5): Alison Brotherton, Doug Haines, Kate Pynoos, Samir Srivastava, and Michael Tessler

[6:53 pm] Daniel Park gave a report from Supervisor Mitchell's office

[6:56 pm] SLO Jesse Rubalcava gave a report from the LAPD.

[7:04 pm] Doug Haines arrived at the meeting

[7:06 pm] LAUSD Board Member Nick Melvoin gave a report from LAUSD.

[7:24 pm] On agenda item 8a, Guy Langman made a motion to "Approve the May 18, 2021 meeting minutes"

[7:25 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Approve the May 18, 2021 meeting minutes"

Ayes (9): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Laura Graves, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Quenton Richards, Ted Wachtel, and Senator Zavala

Noes (o): none

Ineligible (2): Doug Haines and Ian Phillips

The motion passed.

[7:26 pm] On agenda item 8b, Laura Graves made a motion to "Approve MER for May 2021"

[7:27 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Approve MER for May 2021"

Ayes (9): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Laura Graves, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Quenton Richards, Ted Wachtel, and Senator Zavala

Noes (o): none

Ineligible (2): Doug Haines and Ian Phillips

The motion passed.

[7:29 pm] On agenda item 8d, Laura Graves made a motion to "Approve the HSDNC Administrative Packet Annual Budget 2021 - 2022"

[7:38 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Approve the HSDNC Administrative Packet Annual Budget 2021 - 2022"

Ayes (9): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Laura Graves, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Quenton Richards, Ted Wachtel, and Senator Zavala

Noes (o): none

Ineligible (2): Doug Haines and Ian Phillips

The motion passed.

[7:40 pm] Dasler Jimenez left the meeting

[7:41 pm] The chair called for a five minute recess.

[7:45 pm] Dasler Jimenez arrived at the meeting

[7:46 pm] The board returned from recess.

[7:46 pm] On agenda item 8e, Anthony Conley made a motion to "Appoint Laura Graves as the second bank card holder"

[7:48 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Appoint Laura Graves as the second bank card holder"

Ayes (9): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Laura Graves, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Quenton Richards, Ted Wachtel, and Senator Zavala

Noes (o): none

Ineligible (2): Doug Haines and Ian Phillips

The motion passed.

[7:49 pm] On agenda item 9a, Ted Wachtel made a motion to "Appoint Sarah Serrano to the vacant neighborhood 6 seat."

[7:54 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Appoint Sarah Serrano to the vacant neighborhood 6 seat."

Ayes (9): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Laura Graves, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Quenton Richards, Ted Wachtel, and Senator Zavala

Noes (o): none

Ineligible (2): Doug Haines and Ian Phillips

The motion failed.

[7:57 pm] Appointing a board member requires 10 votes according to the HSDNC bylaws (V 6 e)

[7:58 pm] On agenda item 8f, Guy Langman made a motion to "Amend typographical error in HSDNC Bylaws Art VI, Section 2(A)(5)."

[7:59 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Amend typographical error in HSDNC Bylaws Art VI, Section 2(A)(5)."

Ayes (9): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Laura Graves, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Quenton Richards, Ted Wachtel, and Senator Zavala

Noes (o): none

Ineligible (2): Doug Haines and Ian Phillips

The motion failed.

[8:00 pm] The Bylaws require that there be a minimum of twelve Board Members present at the meeting when the bylaws are changed but there were only eleven board members present at this time.

[8:01 pm] On agenda item 8g, Quenton Richards made a motion to "Amend the language in Article VII, Section 3(B) to reduce ad hoc committee quorum to a majority of committee members."

[8:02 pm] Modifying the HSDNC Bylaws require a minimum of twelve board members present at the board meeting. (HSDNC Bylaws XIII. D.)

[8:15 pm] On agenda item 10a, Guy Langman made a motion to "Approve funding up to \$2,000 for the Sidewalk Project Neighborhood Purpose Grant."

[8:15 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Approve funding up to \$2,000 for the Sidewalk Project Neighborhood Purpose Grant." Ayes (9): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Laura Graves, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Quenton Richards, Ted Wachtel, and Senator Zavala

Noes (o): none

Ineligible (2): Doug Haines and Ian Phillips

The motion passed.

[8:16 pm] On agenda item 10b, Ted Wachtel made a motion to "Approve funding up to \$2,000 for Lending Relief Neighborhood Purpose Grant."

[8:17 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Approve funding up to \$2,000 for Lending Relief Neighborhood Purpose Grant." Ayes (9): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Laura Graves, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Quenton Richards, Ted Wachtel, and Senator Zavala

Noes (0): none

Ineligible (2): Doug Haines and Ian Phillips

The motion passed.

[8:18 pm] On agenda item 10c, Guy Langman made a motion to "Approve funding up to \$2,000 for Benekit Neighborhood Purpose Grant."

[8:18 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Approve funding up to \$2,000 for Benekit Neighborhood Purpose Grant."

Ayes (9): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Laura Graves, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Quenton Richards, Ted Wachtel, and Senator Zavala

Noes (o): none

Ineligible (2): Doug Haines and Ian Phillips

The motion passed.

[8:19 pm] On agenda item 11b, Guy Langman made a motion to "Approve up to \$5,000 from HSDNC Outreach expenditures to purchase

coverage paint and supplies from Vista Paint for graffiti removal."

[8:30 pm] Motion was referred to the Outreach committee.

[8:33 pm] On agenda item 11c, Damien Burke made a motion to "Submit the Community Impact Statement (CIS) on the LAPD explosion in South Central Los Angeles."

[8:37 pm] The assembly voted on a motion to: "Submit the Community Impact Statement (CIS) on the LAPD explosion in South Central Los Angeles."

Ayes (9): Damien Burke, Anthony Conley, Laura Graves, Frankie Holt, Dasler Jimenez, Guy Langman, Quenton Richards, Ted Wachtel, and Senator Zavala

Noes (0): none

Ineligible (2): Doug Haines and Ian Phillips The motion passed.

[8:41 pm] Meeting adjourned.

The neighborhood council does not count abstentions as votes